Sword of Shanara

   The Earthsea Trilogy by Ursula K. LeGuin
1   A Wizard of Earthsea
2   The Tombs of Atuan
3   The Farthest Shore


Lee's Review: 

I would have given this series a higher rating if not for the last book. All three books in this series can stand alone. They are self contained separate stories involving the main character of the series throughout his life. Ged, also referred to as Sparrowhawk, is the main character and in the first book, it starts off in his childhood when he learns he has the aptitude for magic and is sent off to a wizard school to learn his craft. In the second book, he is middle aged and not the main character, but plays an important role. In the third book, he is an old man and goes on a journey to discover why magic is failing. I liked the first two books, but had a hard time getting into the last one. All of the books are quite short in length and are quick reads.

Veronica's Review: 

Did not read this series

Fantasy Book Series Reviews Home