Sword of Shanara

   The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb
1   Assassin's Apprentice
2   Royal Assassin
3   Assassin's Quest
   The Tawny Man Trilogy by Robin Hobb
4   Fool's Errand
5   Golden Fool
6   Fool's Fate

Lee's Review: 

This series had me instantly immersed into its world from the very beginning. The story is told through first person perspective the entire series and it had such a powerful effect on the story. You came to like the main character Fitz right away and were always sympathizing with him because you were only seeing through his eyes. The magic in this series comes in two forms: the Skill and the Wit. Fitz is unique in that he possesses both. The Skill is a form of mind magic where it can influence others and allow you to see through their own eyes. The Wit is a way of communicating with animals and can allow you to bond with an animal and share their thoughts. The story line is good and is driven by political intrigue but the best thing about this series is Fitzís relationships with other people and his bond animal. This was a nice change of pace from other fantasy series Iíve read and I definitely recommend it.

Veronica's Review: 

The author did a wonderful job of pulling me into the story.  The characters are realistic enough that I laughed, cried, and anguished with the characters.  In moments of triumph I even looked around for someone to hi-five before I realized it was just me and the book.  The author used enough detail so you could point (on your body) to where the characters take a wound.  I like that the author didnít use so much detail that I forgot where I was in the story.  The series is good and short; no need to read 15 books before you come to a resolution to the story.

Fantasy Book Series Reviews Home