Sword of Shanara

   The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant by Stephen R. Donaldson
1   Lord Foul's Bane
2   The Illearth War
3   The Power That Preserves
4   The Wounded Land
5   The One Tree
6   White Gold Wielder

Lee's Review: 

When I found out the premise of this series I went right out and bought the book. The story starts off with Thomas Covenant happily married with a son and at the top of his career when he finds out he has leprosy. His wife leaves him and takes his child in fear of his son coming down with it. Thomas lives in a small town and the people there shun him and he becomes bitter and keeps to himself. One day while in town he is hit by a car and when he wakes up he finds himself in a fantasy world. He doesnít believe that he is in this world (hence the title) but thinks itís just a dream or state of unconsciousness from that car accident. The book poses the question of what is reality and never gives away whether he is actually having a dream or is transported to a fantasy world. The book is highly descriptive Ė in fact, too descriptive for my taste and I found myself skimming quite a lot. Donaldsonís creation of his character Thomas Covenant is unique in the fact the main character of the book is a bitter, pessimistic, and down right unlikable character. A lot of people like the story for that but I simply wasnít able to get into the character. For me, in order to really enjoy a book I need to care about the characters Iím reading and I just couldnít do that here.

Veronica's Review: 

Did not read this series

Fantasy Book Series Reviews Home